Word Slut

7 Jul

I am a total word slut. I go out of my way to learn new words and interesting slang. I can speak 6 languages passably well, and I know a bit about at least a dozen others, not because I’m particularly fascinated with other languages, but because English doesn’t have enough words to keep me busy. Plus, I found what is possibly the coolest post-apocalyptic RPG I have ever seen, and it’s in French, so good thing, right?

When people introduce me to a new word, even if they’ve just made it up themselves, I try to incorporate the new word into my vocabulary. Even though I would rather stay home and listen to dark atmospheric post-rock, I go out to parties with scantily clad women, just so that I will have an excuse to use the word, “bootilicious”. I remember mentioning to my wife the other day, “I don’t like being surrounded by athletic young women in lingerie, but how will a word like bootilicious, so newly added to the dictionary, ever gain literary acceptance, unless we can use it in conversations.” I can see by the red squiggly spelling error lines, that I have a lot of work to do.

My friend Aviva made up the word “alifife”, which means, “I love life as you love life. I honor your deepest creation in this life and I encourage you to love yourself and be yourself for the highest good.” I have to admit, this word was a lot easier to use when I was healthy. When I had the kidney stones, and now that I have gall stones, pure crippling petrified agony inside my body, it’s become a word I use sarcastically, if it all.

But there is a word I would like to propose. It is a question or an exclamation of sorts, for use in public media. It is the word, “pontypool”, from the movie of the same name. It means, “Are the lies, nonsense, and/or horrifying unethical statements that you just made a symptom of a new type of information life form that gets inside your brain and reproduces through language, and soon you will degenerate into a ravenous chanting zombie and vomit blood? If not, I have something to hope for.”

See? A word like that you could use in interviews. For example, if you are being interviewed for a TV news show. You could use it in forums, in chatrooms. You could use it in the comments section at the end of most articles. Hopefully the word pontypool will eventually replace all spam.

On a related and slightly more realistic hope, people who see this post and like zombie movies will see Pontypool.

6 Responses to “Word Slut”

  1. Misterecho 16 July 2010 at 4:23 am #

    The “Scots English” language can be very interesting. I recommend the works of Robert Burns, he was the first to publish works in Scots.

    http://www.robertburns.org/works/

    Tam o shanter and To a mouse are among my favourites

  2. Misterecho 18 July 2010 at 1:51 am #

    If you want to hear what it sounds like in in our dialect:

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/robertburns/works/lament_for_the_absence_of_william_creech_publisher/

    • sheikhjahbooty 18 July 2010 at 2:59 am #

      Creeshie Deils!

      It won’t play for tawpie yanks.

      I’ll have to get one of those apps to busk my connection with a Scot’s IP addy.

      • Misterecho 7 September 2010 at 3:22 pm #

        did you eventually get there? if you want to use BBC services, use a UK IP address available through the British proxy’s available here
        http://proxy.org/proxies_sorted.shtml.

        *i didn’t tell you this!* 🙂

Leave a Reply

